Beauty Heartache – Products That Were Disappointing 

I find myself in the rather startling situation of having trouble finding topics to write about here. 

I figured I’d try this since I see it YouTube every once in a while. I understand this can be a sensitive topic for some people. I want to say, right now, that a lot of these products have high ratings and they’re brands I love. They’re not bad products, and if they work for you, keep using them! Unfortunately they simply did not work for me, whether it wasn’t compatible with my skin type, tone, etc… My hope is that it helps some people get an idea of what might and might not work for them. 

Now let’s get started.

This mascara was the most meh mascara I’ve ever tried. It pretty much just seemed to paint my lashes black, which is pretty pointless if your lashes are already black. No volumizing, no lengthening, and it could not hold a curl even with a tool.

Now this one…did male my makeup last longer, so I guess it hit the main point of even putting primer on your face. It didn’t color correct the redness in my skin though, which is the whole point of the green tint. And it was oily as hell.

This was unfortunately my first try at Bare Minerals foundation. I guess what I’ve learned from all this is that I should stay away from any foundation with the word “serum” in it, because I just can’t get them to not look pasty on my face no matter how much I blend. This one, interestingly enough, clung to and emphasized dry patches, even though it claims to be very hydrating. 

Same with the concealer that came with it. It makes me look 90 when I wear it under my eyes, as it brings put crepiness that I don’t even have. On zits? Forget it. It emphasizes mine even more. It’s a shame, because I really loved the blush, eyeshadow, finishing powder, and liquid lipstick it came with. The foundation and concealer, most of the reason I bought the set, were duds.

Now this one is my fault. It’s meant to address redness, but not redness from acne scaring like me. It’s a good, gentle, and moisturizing serum, but other than that it did nothing for any of my skin concerns.

And there you have it. Disagree with anything? Again, I’m not saying these are inherently bad products. They just didn’t work for me. Such is the beauty of trying new things.

Leave a Reply

