3 Ways To Take Off Your Makeup, 0 Excuses

You’ve heard it said over and over and over again. But just in case:

Beauty Commandment #1: Remove thy makeup before thou’st retire.

There’s a huge list of reasons what kind of havoc makeup can wreck on your skin if you don’t thoroughly clean your face before bed, including but not limited to clogged pores, infections, and even accelerated aging. 

I’ll admit, there have been times when I was younger that I slept with a full face of makeup on. I always woke up feeling icky. I felt like I might as well have went to bed with my shirt, jeans, and shoes still on. Nowadays, taking off my makeup is as satisfying as taking off my pants and bra when I get home from work. 

Luckily, we have a lot more options nowadays. No more hunching over in front of a sink scrubbing every speck of mascara off your eyes. 

Facial towelettes


Pros: These are the most convenient, in my opinion. There’s no extra stuff needed, so you can take them anywhere. There’s also no rinsing needed with these. They’re super easy to travel with. I like taking some to work just in case my mascara runs or if my makeup is feeling too uncomfortable on a hot, humid day. There’s also a huge variety, all a dressing different skin issues, from dryness to acne. 
Cons: You might find yourself going through these a lot, because if you’re wearing a full face of makeup, you’ll very likely need to use more than one. They also produce a lot of waste. I’ve also run into a problem with some that sting my skin. If they’re specifically for dry or sensitive skin, you might not run into this problem hopefully. 

Micellar Water


Pros: It’s quick and effective. Just soak a cotton pad and run it all over your face. It’s also great for correcting makeup mistakes. Just dip a q-tip in and swipe. In my experience, I’ve never come across a micellar water that burns my skin, unlike some facial wipes. In fact, it’s gentle yet refreshing without stripping your skin of moisture. It’s a great choice for all skin types, but especially sensitive or dey skin types.

Cons: It can burn your eyes. Not all do, but some do. The one pictured above doesn’t seem to sting mine. Also, it seems to have a hard time completely removing water resistant or waterproof mascara. I personally use a separate eye makeup remover whenever I use micellar water, especially if it’s one that burns my eyes. You also might find that you need to use more than one go around with a soaked cotton pad.

Cleansing oil 


Pros: In my opinion, this is the most effective product of the three. It quickly melts off makeup like a charm, even waterproof. And despite what some may be led to believe when they read the word “oil,” it’s fantastic for those with oil skin, as like dissolves like. In short, it  does a great job at removing excess sebum.

Cons: It’s a bit involved, because there are multiple steps instead of just a swipe and done. You need to apply and rub the oil on your face, wet your hands to emulsify it, and rinse and wipe.

Leave a Reply

