February 2017 Ipsy Glambag Review

It’s gloomy and rainy and dark outside. It would have been a wonderful day to stay home. Alas, I still can’t quit my day job. However, I’m thankful that I didn’t have to try to fight with the lighting in my apartment. I finally got a lighting kit, and it is seriously the next best thing I purchased since the camera. No more trying to race daylight and pray that the weather cooperates to photograph products.

I love how February flies by. I do not like February at all. It’s the worst, most temperamental weather. However, it gives me less time to finish things I need to get done monthly, like this review. Yes, this review might seem late, but I really needed the extra time to try out my products. 

Anyone else not too wild about this month’s glambag design? It was just so…meh. I get what they were trying to do, but the hem made it so tiny. Plus it looks like something right out of the early 2000’s. But again, I don’t care that much about the bag. I care about what’s in it. 

Like this guy. This was the thing I was most excited about. I’ve wanted to try It Cosmetics’ Bye Bye Undereye Illumination for a while now. I use the regular formula on many occasions. I got the shade Tan last year in a glambag and I use it on the regular when I’m dark enough. But in the winter and spring when my skin is more pale, I really struggle with hiding my more noticeable dark circles. Even the power of the beloved Bye Bye Undereye allowed some green tints to peak through. And the Medium Neutral shade seemed way too light on me, yet the next shade darker was too dark. It just looked pasty.

But not this. There’s just something about this shade that matches so much better. And it covers my dark circles perfectly without any greens showing through in the middle of the day. It doesn’t crease as bad either. Weird huh?

Another old favorite brand of mine. Luxie, as far as I’m concerned, make the best brushes for a relatively affordable price. They’re synthetic bristles are coated with an anti-bacterial coating, which if you forget to wash your brushes (as I did here), you won’t have to worry about them getting too gross and possibly breaking you out. Go Luxie! 

So here we have a generous (full sized) tube of mascara. I gotta say that Bellapierre has been hit or miss with me. I haven’t tried this mascara because I’m hoarding it for summer, since it’s waterproof. I’m like a makeup squirrel when it comes to hoarding makeup for later in the year.

I’m not sure about the wand though. I don’t usually have much luck with rubber wands because they don’t grab every lash and they just kind of slop on mascara, making my lashes clumpy. But this one seems to have quite a few bristles compared to the other ones I’ve tried. Maybe I’ll be pleasantly surprised. 

This I wasn’t especially excited for, but it turned out to be an unexpected delight. This full sized beauty is a natural looking highlighter by Luna Cosmetics.

It goes on the face to leave a natural glow that’s not too glittery. It doesn’t emphasize texture and pores too much, which I really appreciate since I really struggle with clogged pores. It’s insanely frustrating for someone that’s acne prone or has large pores to find a highlighter that don’t emphasize your skin issues. This could be the answer to your prayers.

And now the flop of the bag…

I love getting skincare in my glambag. I’m a skincare addict, as you could probably see from my winter skincare posts. So it’s always a bummer when I get something that I don’t care for. This mask by True Botanicals runs $90 for the full sized product. For that much money, I expect nothing short of a Holy Grail. This was just okay. I’d save your money and buy something for a fraction of the price that works just as good. Plus it stung my skin a little, and the fragrance was bleh!

So…what did you guys get?? I hope it was a good month! 

Does ipsy sound like something you’d be interested in? Check it out here!

1 thought on “February 2017 Ipsy Glambag Review”

Leave a Reply

