My Recommendations for Dry Winter Skin

Over the holidays, the husband and I flew out to visit my dad for Christmas. Another Christmas gift? It was first class both ways. I’ve never flown first class before and, if you book far in advance, the extra money is totally worth it at least once in your life. It makes the trip extra special and a little more tolerable since you’re not packed in like sardines.

But no matter where you sit, traveling by plane can wreck havoc on your skin. The stress, the dry air on the plane, and–if you’re super late or early–the lack of sleep. No good!

And my dad lives in Wisconsin, so it was COLD. Like temperatures around the Artic Circle cold. One morning when we were going out to breakfast, the thermometer read -20F (not factoring in wind chill.) That week, it got up to a balmy 4F one day. So with the airplane ride, the freezing wind, the bitter winter air, and the dry heat from the wood fire heat, my skin FREAKED out. It managed to break out in pimples AND be dry and itchy. I was convinced my skin was throwing a tantrum over deciding to go somewhere for Christmas that was colder than where I live, instead of going somewhere warmer like sane people.

The travel skincare kit I got wasn’t doing anything for it, either. I won’t mention it since it’s not something I’d recommend anyway. It barely kept the dry itchy skin at bay and my zits got worse. My Dad’s aloe plant probably saved my skin’s life for those two weeks.

When I came back, I dove right back into my winter skincare routine. My skin came back to life within 24 hours. 

I know what you’re thinking. “Really? You need that many products?” Well no not really. I’m a self-proclaimed skincare junkie, so my routines are always bordering over the top. Plus I wanted to slam my face and skin with as much moisture as I could. For the sake of not having a blog post that’s a novel’s worth, I’m going to be focusing on only certain items. The skincare. I’ll put up a part 2 later on the other products.

First off, you’ll want a cleanser that isn’t foamy, as foam can strip your skin of moisture. This cleanser from pur-lisse is a cream cleanser that does a good job of removing makeup, too. It’s all flat lol. It’s almost all gone and I really do love it. Most importantly, it doesn’t clog my pores. If you do struggle with breakouts even in the winter, find a noncomedogenic yet moisturizing cleanser! This cleanser is suitable for all skin types.

If you use toner, stay away from alcohol based ones. They’ll dry out your face like a mother-. I chose this one by derma-e because it combats the redness on my face that tends to get worse in the winter.

I find that using a serum at least in the winter is a great way to add in extra moisture while combating specific skin concerns. This one by derma-e addresses redness and sensitivity. 

The undereye is one of the most fragile areas on our face, and it doesn’t usually produce much oil, so it needs extra moisture. Plus, as dark circles become more apparent on my skin when I don’t have a tan, a brightening undereye cream helps. I’m using this one by Arbonne. Word to those who struggle with easily clogged pores: Don’t go all ham with eye cream right away. If they’re too rich they’ll cause little white bumps that are tough to get rid off. Stay vigilant with the area you apply it. 

I have combination skin, but I pick a lightweight moisturizer that’s suitable for normal to dry skin since my face is more parched in the winter. I use this one by pur-lisse (psst, it’s in sale on the pur-lisse website right now.)

Want more hydration? Then I recommend this baby. This moisture mask by Nuxe is my Holy Grail when it comes to battling dry skin. It even helped the dry, itchy, red patches that crept up between my eyes as the weather got cooler in the fall and my skin decided to flip out over it. This mask claims to moisturize for 24 hours, and I feel it lives up to this claim! The directions say to apply, leave on for 10 minutes, then massage into the skin. I massage it in right away like I would a moisturizer, then leave it on all night. My skin feels baby soft the next morning and all day, even when it’s below zero! And best of all, my skin feels truly hydrated from within instead of feeling all greased up like with some moisture masks. 

And just because you can’t see the sun behind those snow clouds doesn’t mean UV rays can’t damage your skin. Always wear your spf! I don’t mind this one by derma-e that feels a bit heavier because to me, it’s like an extra soft face sweater to protect my skin from the elements.

So there you have it! This may seem overwhelming, but it’s my routine that works best for me. Different strokes and all. Keep a look out for part 2 where I address winter skincare for lips and body. 

What do you do to battle wintery dry skin? Leave a comment and let me know!

Leave a Reply

