January 2017 Ipsy Bag Review

Before we get to the good stuff, I want to welcome you to my first post! Thank you so much for taking time to read it. Even though I know it’s going to be a LOOONNNG journey because I have so much to learn, I’m looking forward to the experience.

As I’m learning how to write a beauty blog, I’m learning photography, too. Photography isn’t brand new to me. I’ve dabbled for years. But I finally decided to get serious about it as part of a New Year’s resolution. I ended up purchasing my first DSLR camera. I only wish I did it sooner! I’m already in love with it!

With that, I learned how awful the lighting in my apartment is. My bedroom provides the most space to lay everything out and provides the most natural light, but it’s a very gloomy and rainy day outside. To compensate, I have a table lamp and a floor lamp.

The table lamp is in the most convenient place to stage the products. However, the light bulb gives off this gross, yellow tone. It’s cozy for a bedroom and easier on the eyes, but terrible for photography. The floor lamp on the other side of the room has bright, almost sun-like light, but no place to set up.

I need to do better planning and not photograph on gloomy days. For now, I apologize.

So let’s get to business!

First off, the theme is Metropolis, and the bag design was inspired by city skyscrapers.

I personally think that it reminds me more of the athleisure trend we’re seeing in fashion. It’s like the mesh on a running shoe. I’m not complaining though!

What matters to me most is the stuff inside.

Blush is an essential to me. I’ve tried ModelCo products in past bags and I’ve always liked them. The shade Peach Bellini is the peachy, shimmery color below. Check out that pigment. AND dat sheen.

The streak next to it is this guy from Manna Kamar.

It’s in the pinkier side of bronze.The shade is called Fantasy, and it’s the only color of this particular product. At first glance it looks pretty ordinary, but it does a beautiful job of adding some sparkle to an everyday, neutral eye look. This morning I took a fawn colored shadow stick, smudged it all over my lids, and dusted this on my inner corners and the middle of my eyelid. The results were beautiful! It claims to be a 3-in-1 product that you can use as an eyeshadow, a highlight, and a bronzer.

On to the Camera Ready BB Cream. Because there’s nothing like a good BB Cream on lazy or rushed days, and Smashbox hasn’t failed me yet.

I got the shade light/medium. It looks too dark because my arms are so pale right now, but it actually sheers out very nicely on my face.

Blended out, it gives your skin a natural and lovely no-makeup makeup base. Plus, SPF 35!

These last two products I was so excited about. I’m addicted to both.

Ipsy finally sent me a nail polish! The last time I recieved a polish was December 2015. About time!

Pretty Woman Nail Polish in the shade I’m Not A Ballerina is a loverly baby pink, perfect for spring color. And baby, it lasts and lasts.

That’s after 8 days. A teeny bit of peeling at the edge on my index finger and thumb, but otherwise it looked almost as good as the day I put it on. Opacity in two coats, and not streaky at all like a lot of light colored polishes. And it’s so, so shiny.

Next is one of two masks.

My camera did not want to focus right on this product. But that’s okay, because this product is awesome! Sheet masks are awesome! Especially when they work as well as this one for only $1.50! 10 minutes is all you need with this Sally’s Box Loverecipe Mask. Ipsy gave subscribers two kinds to try: Acai Berry and Aloe Vera (the Aloe one I used pretty much the minute I opened the glambag.) I must mention that your skin might feel a little sticky for a half hour or so, but you’re left behind with baby-soft skin that feels hydrated from within. Plus the little scenes on the packaging are adorable.

I rarely get a bag I don’t like from ipsy, and this one was no exception! I got two products I yearned for and three that worked out pretty well.

If you want to build up your makeup collection on the cheap or want to explore new brands, you really should check ipsy out. It’s a $10 a month subscription service that sends you 5 deluxe sample-sized or even full-sized products every month. As a subscriber for almost two years, I say money well spent.

If you’re interested, check it out here! More info

2 thoughts on “January 2017 Ipsy Bag Review”

Leave a Reply

